top of page
  • Writer's pictureJayati Khanna

Navigating the Journey of being a student in a Girls' College

Updated: May 4


Entering the world of college is an exciting journey filled with new experiences and opportunities for growth. After months of preparation and hard work, we all finally got admission into our dream university. However, for some students getting admission into a girl's college is not an ideal situation due to all the misconceptions and stereotypes. The prevalence of misconceptions surrounding girls' colleges poses significant challenges, impacting not only the institution's dynamics but also the mental health of its students.


After getting admission to a girl’s college or rather, I should say, “Mahilla College”, even I was a little scared. My school friends questioned if I would be able to survive in it as the environment would be judgemental, negative, and extremely competitive. I was scared as I did not want to be surrounded by negativity for four years of my life. I felt weird about how it would be without any male friends around.


My college started just after the pandemic ended. I entered with fear and excitement. The moment I entered my class I was greeted with a bunch of classmates, who were equally excited. Within the first week, all my fears about girls college were gone and I found a bunch of people I could relate to. It was in my college that I realized the true meaning of sisterhood.


I am currently in my second year and have amazing relations with all my classmates. I found people who can go out of their way to help each other.


Girls in my college uplift each other and make each other feel special. Moreover, no subject of discussion is taboo here. It feels empowering to talk about everything without being judged or shamed for it.


The most common stereotype that I've heard is that girls’ colleges are boring. Nevertheless, I realized that we do not need guys to have fun. We can eat, dance, and party without being dependent on guys.


A group of girls is enough for themselves.


I have met so many dynamic women in college with such different backgrounds, experiences, and interests, yet we all have one thing in common and that is we all are women supporting women.


The experience of being in an all-girls college is liberating and empowering.


43 views7 comments

7 Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Guest
May 05
Rated 5 out of 5 stars.

❤️Very nice


Like

Guest
May 04
Rated 5 out of 5 stars.

Well said

Like

Guest
May 04
Rated 5 out of 5 stars.

Women empower women

Like

Guest
May 04
Rated 5 out of 5 stars.

So good

Like

Guest
May 04
Rated 5 out of 5 stars.

Very interesting

Like
bottom of page